Several Arab Countries Cut Ties With Qatar Over Terrorism

What has changed

Effective June 5, 2017, all Qatari citizens residing and working in Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Bahrain, Egypt, Yemen and Libya are required to exit the country within fourteen (14) days due to political instability. Diplomatic relations between the state of Qatar and the aforementioned countries have been severed due to Qatar’s support of terrorism. The coordinated move dramatically escalates a simmering dispute over Qatar’s support of the Muslim Brotherhood and adds accusations that Doha (the capital city of Qatar) backs the agenda of Iran. However, Qatari pilgrims will be able to visit Saudi Arabia for Haj and Umrah despite the cut in diplomatic relations.

Additionally, citizens from Qatar have been banned from passing through the UAE. Citizens of the UAE are now banned from visiting or even passing through Qatar.

All flights between Qatar and Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, Egypt, Yemen, and Libya have been suspended.

According to the Saudi state news agency SPA, Riyadh, the capital city of Saudi Arabia, has closed its borders, severing land, sea, and air contact with Qatar.

Oman and Kuwait, the two remaining Gulf States, have yet to announce their position.

Who is affected?

  • Qatari citizens residing and working in: Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, Egypt, Yemen, and Libya
  • Citizens of Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Bahrain, Egypt, Yemen, and Libya residing and working in Qatar
What you need to do
Planning ahead
  • As de-registration is not required, all clients with impacted employees should swiftly send them home within the designated timeframe.
  • Clients should be cautious when planning travel through the Gulf Countries.
  • Contact your Emigra Worldwide representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your client.