European Parliament – Resolution Passed to Reintroduce Visas for United States Nationals

What has changed

On March 2, 2017, the European Parliament passed a non-binding resolution urging the European Commission, the executive body of the European Union (EU), to reintroduce visas for nationals of the United States (US) within the next two (2) months. This action was in response to the US government failing to extend visa-free travel to nationals of the following EU member states: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland, and Romania.

Who is affected?

  •  United States nationals

What to expect

The European Commission has indicated that they will try to resolve the issue using diplomacy. It is therefore unlikely that any travel restrictions will be imposed on US nationals prior to June 15, 2017, which is when discussions between the EU and US officials are scheduled to occur.

What you need to do
Planning ahead

  • Contact your Emigra Worldwide representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your client.